Rooted Froyo vs Gingerbread?

NovusGuitar

Nov 4, 2011
Visit site
I have an Epic 4G rooted from EC05 Froyo with Bonsai. Is it worth flashing back to Froyo, then updating to Gingerbread? And then rooting again?

Opinions?

Thanks in advance!

Nick

jmuru

Jan 18, 2011
Visit site
If you're comfortable rooting your device, you should definitely be on GB. Most of the devs are working on EI22-based ROMs so that's where the latest tweaks are being developed. And, GB gives me way better battery life and features (ie. Netflix, Gchat w/video, front-facing camera on Skype). Can't really think of any negatives to switching to GB if you are comfortable rooting, etc... Now, if you're not, that's a different matter. Lol.

NovusGuitar

Nov 4, 2011
Visit site
Yeah, I have no problem rooting. Since I rooted my Froyo and put the Bonsai ROM on, I've experienced much better battery life as well.

I'm pretty new to rooting and such so I don't know a whole lot about different version of the stock OS. Doesn't rooting replace the stock OS? If so, what's the point in rooting from Froyo vs. rooting from Gingerbread?

Paul627g

AC Moderator All-Star
Nov 25, 2010
Visit site
Actually if your that interested in jumping on board to GB, then there is no need to go to Gingerbread and then root... Just grab one of the Gingerbread based ROMs and flash away right over to it. Skip the whole Odin back to stock, update, rooted, etc.... No need to since your already rooted.

Addie_Goodvibes

Mar 11, 2010
Visit site
Yeah, I have no problem rooting. Since I rooted my Froyo and put the Bonsai ROM on, I've experienced much better battery life as well.

I'm pretty new to rooting and such so I don't know a whole lot about different version of the stock OS. Doesn't rooting replace the stock OS? If so, what's the point in rooting from Froyo vs. rooting from Gingerbread?

I have a similiar question.
I am running Froyo.DK-28 (non-rooted) I flashed prior to the official OTA update.