EL30 OTA -- Updating After Rooting?

Dronak

Jan 21, 2011
Visit site
Probably a simple question for those with experience, but I'm still new to rooting and all -- when a new OTA comes out, like Sprint just announced EL30 (Sprint Community: Samsung Epic: Samsung Epic Software Updates), what does a rooted user do? I know the OTA won't push correctly to rooted phones, so we're sort of on our own to get updated. I'm currently using the MostlyStock ROM -- any idea of there will be an update of that I can flash? Is there something else similarly stock-ish that will be updated that I can flash over it? Or can I get by without this update? "Security update" is the only thing I care much about (never noticed speaker feedback issues, and root took care of bloatware), but I've got Android 2.3.5 and I think EI22 was to a lower version than this, so EL30 might just go up to 2.3.5, which I already have. I'm not sure, I don't see an exact version on the Sprint web board. Any advice you can provide would certainly be appreciated. Thanks for your help!

Dronak

Jan 21, 2011
Visit site
I have no idea right now. The announcement post I linked to and the discussion thread it links to don't say anything beyond "security update". It would be nice if that were a removal of CarrierIQ, but it could also just be an update to Android in general -- I think it's common for minor updates to include security patches/fixes.

rando991

Sep 21, 2010
Visit site
Security update (CIQ)
- Speaker feedback fix
- The QIK and Asphalt 5 applications are no longer preloaded. When opening
the applications using the application icon, you will be redirected to the
Android market to download and install the full application.
* After the QIK install, you will need to login using your original
account information or create a new account. All contacts should remain intact
* After the Asphalt 5 install, previous game play data (eg. levels) will not be retained.
-Compass fix

Last edited:

rando991

Sep 21, 2010