Welcome to the Android Central Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default Help!! phone may be bricked during root attempt on EL30

I just unrooted my phone in order to update to EL30. Successfully updated to EL30 and then went to re-root. Was using Odin to install "kernel-BG-3a.tar" It didn't finish like normal and stalled. I ended up unplugging it from the computer and took the battery out and then put it back in. Now my phone shows an error message of a phone .... exclamation point ... computer.

I can get into download mode by pressing power and the 1 key. Odin recognizes the phone but I cannot install that tar file. I do not think it is a cord issue as I have used it successfully in the past to root previous EI22 software.

I am not a pro at this at all but have had success in the past rooting this phone. My phone is now stuck, please help!!

I was using QBKING77's video here
    Thank you!

ROM
    CM│9.1.0

Default Re: Help!! phone may be bricked during root attempt on EL30

You should really never pull a cable from an unfinished cycle on ODIN; though after about 5 mins, if the cycle has not completed to a reboot on your device, you may pull the battery.

[ROOT][CWM][GUIDE][GINGERBREAD] Rooting the Samsung Epic 4g

Do Not Fret.........I know, easier said than done in your specific situation (you're in a Soft-Brick)......first, ODIN may have worked previously on your current cable or from the current version of ODIN that you used to run your EL30 update, but all bets may be OFF that this is still going to work for your next ODIN for root process.

The above link is your stickey-lifesaver courtesy of our moderator Paul627g.

As you are able to launch download mode, you're in a position to run your wipe/restore back to EL30 (again) if necessary (actually, you will have to to get out of your Soft-Brick).

Whenever you're ready: