Terminology?

2sslow

Dec 2, 2010
Visit site
First let me say I'm a noob to Android but i'm not new to hacking. Ive been on the WebOs forums for a year and a half and created many patches. I know Android is similar but also very different.

There are quite a bit of differences. The Terminology in particular.

I'm hoping some of you gurus here can help me understand the differences.

I get the basics as I am rooted running the leaked Froyo 2.2 on my Epic4g. What I'm not clear on is what certain things are and in what order to do them.

You guys here are really good at what you do however there is still some things I've been unable to find.

Q 1: Could someone Please explain what the modem is
A 1) The file your phone uses to communicate with cellular towers. I know this because when people update the rest of their OS and not their modem they get no signal!

Q 2: What is the pit (is this the kernel?)
3: What does the .tar file contain? is this the Rom?
A 2 & 3) The .tar file contains the modem, the kernel, and the rest of the Android OS files. It is possible to flash only the modem - it is a .bin file, and can be flashed using the Phone section of Odin. I've never really thought about what the .pit is for, but it is only a few KBs so I'm assuming it's some sort of update script (you never flash .bin or .tar without it).

Q 4: What does the rom contain? Does it contain the modem and pit?
A 4) This varies, but usually contains all files in the "data/", "kernel_update/", "META-INF/" and "system/ " folders, but no modem.

Q 5: Does Changing Roms change the kernel.
A 5) Only if the kernel is packaged with the ROM, which varies from dev to dev.

Q 6: Can I change kernels w/o changing roms? Is there an order I need to follow when changing roms vs kernels.
A 6) Yes to the first question, no to the second. Some people run stock ROMs with custom kernels.