ROM flash Status 7 Error

mithunm93

Aug 4, 2012
Visit site
Hey guys,
I'm pretty new to flashing, and I just rooted my phone. I have CWM (Rogue ET Recovery 1.1.2 - CWM v5.0.2.7) on it right now, and I'm trying to flash Dark Knight's JB Beta 4 CM10 ROM on my phone. whenever I attempt to flash a ROM (any ROM, not just DK's JB Beta 4), I get the infamous Status 7 error. What seems to be failing for me is the build prop assert where it is checking my phone's model. Sometimes it checks for my phone to be called 'epic4gtouch', or 'galaxys2' when my phone is seeming to be called 'SPH-D710'. Can someone please help me with this? Any and all help is appreciated. I'm really new so I don't want to go messing around in some file and brick my device. Here is my phone info and error message:

Phone info:

Model Number: SPH-D710

Android Version: 2.3.6

Baseband Version: S: D710.10S.EL26

Kernel Version: 2.6.35.7-SPH-D710.EL26-CL839620

Build Number: GINGERBREAD.EL29

Hardware Version: D710.10

Error:
Finding Update package....
Opening update package...
Installing update ...
assert failed: getprop("ro.product.device") == "SPH-D710" || getprop("ro.build.product") == "SPH-D710" || getprop("ro.product.device") == "epic4gtouch" || getprop("ro.build.product") == "epic4gtouch"
E:Error in /sdcard/CyanogenMod1_Beta4_DK.zip
(status 7)
Installation aborted.

Thank you guys so much for taking the time to look at my question ! :)

redx1989

Oct 4, 2011
Visit site
I had that once, I flashed el26 kernel/recovery through Odin on PC, and other than DK jb ROM I've successfully flashed using the rogue recovery but I always go back to stock rooted gingerbread though

dhaft88

Sep 5, 2012
Visit site
I figured it out, it appears you cannot use the Rogue CWM recovery. I used the recovery at the following link to make things work:
Cyanogenmod Epic Touch: Tools

Good luck!

Not having any luck :/ I've been doing factory reset, wipe cache and dalvik cache