Newbie Here Requesting Some Help

byrdcfmma

Sep 21, 2012
Visit site
Hello everyone. I have been reading a lot, and searching, but the more I read the more it seems I need to read more, lol!

Is there a Newbie Guide or anything that will help get up to speed on terms and processes? My phone updated to ICS, and after a lot of complaining to Sprint & Samsung, I rooted to EL29 and love it. Now where do I go from here? Maybe try some other modems to see if I can get better service in my area? Not only interested in the "how to" but also "Why" if that makes sense.

Thanks in advanced for any help or directions. BTW, I have been watching the QBKing 77 vids and they have been helpful.

byrdcfmma

Sep 21, 2012
Visit site
Okay, found and read dmmarck's Dont Panic Guide for the Nexus. That answered a lot of questions. Even though it is not my phone, I assume the processes are the same, but different roms, kernals, etc specific to to the phone and carrier.

Since I have already rooted to EL29, next up is CWM to make a recovery file. I'm going to search for it, but anyone can provide a quick link, feel free to help.

Thanks!

patrao_n

Jul 3, 2012
Visit site
Sorry I can't link right now. But look in the epic touh 4g forums on xda-developers.com there is a guide that is stickied in general called how not to brick.

sent from MY BAD A$$ ET4G

DEF3NDER

Mar 28, 2012
Visit site
As for why, I'd say because you can and its fun. Update your device to your liking. Make it your own. Optimize it. Make it lean and mean. Whatever you want.

Do you have specific questions about the processes? Specific why's?

Sent from my SPH-D710 using Android Central Forums

byrdcfmma

Sep 21, 2012
Visit site
Try going to the team nocturnal web site

Sorry I can't link right now. But look in the epic touh 4g forums on xda-developers.com there is a guide that is stickied in general called how not to brick.

sent from MY BAD A$$ ET4G