EVO Car Dock questions!

Caitlyn McKenzie

May 17, 2010
Visit site
Okay, so I'm new to Android. I'm coming from a Pre, which I've used a touchstone as a car mount. So obviously that will need a complete replacement.

Now I've heard there's a "Car Mode" in Android, and that it could be enabled when connected to a car dock? How does this work exactly, and does it require special docks?

Also, any recommendations for a car dock that can do the above (if possible) and charge the EVO as well? I'd like to get one that is not a windshield mount, but if there is one that is especially good, I will take a look.

Finally, are there car docks that also sport a 3.5mm connection, since my car stereo has a 3.5mm jack?

clafountaine

Mar 28, 2010
Visit site
I would like to see some info on this too. I saw that Sedio has there line-up available for pre-order. Looks pretty nice, and comes with the little plate you mount to your dash and the suction cup attaches to that. Didnt see anything about the jack though, but that would be an awesome feature. mp3 player would be super useful then!

drjb74

Nov 9, 2009
Visit site
I dont know about the EVO, but the Droid has a car mode that when you click it into the Motorola Car dock, a new homepage comes up with five large icons to make it easier to press, navigation and such. When you remove it from the dock, it returns to the regular home screen.

It also has a separate homescreen for the Motorola multimedia dock as well. It is pretty cool. I really liked it. The only bad part for the car dock was that if you had it positioned horizontally in the car dock, when the phone rang, the call screen does not rotate, and stays in the vertical position. So either you have to position it in the vertical position, or when a call comes in, deal with the screen being sideways. Everything else rotated, depending on the orientation of the phone.

tntsniper#CB

May 17, 2010
Visit site