"Asteroid" tablet pc will not boot!

Sep 10, 2011
Visit site
Hey everyone, this is my first time using the forum so hi.
I am trying to fix a friends android tablet pc. I have never even heard of the make and no software comes with the device. It's a so called "Asteroid" tablet which will not get past the boot screen! it just gets stuck on the android logo with the dots going up and down the space ship. He said it worked for one day and then it broke. It does look very similar to the generic ones being sold on other websites and are just called "7 Inch Android 2.2OS Tablet with WiFi and Camera".

Any help is very much appreciated! Thanks

sorry for posting a specific device in this section, but the make is unknown.
P.S:
android 2.2
Kernel:2.6.32
build:v1.5.1

Moscow Desire

Troubleshooter
Mar 3, 2011
Visit site
This is what happens when you pay 75 bucks for a tablet pc, or maybe a little more. Who knows where and whom it came from.

The fact that it somewhat boots to the ..... ahem.... logo, so all is not lost. It's what we call "semi-bricked" or.... Bootloop hell. Usually this is the result of a corrupted Android OS. Or trying to install something that wasn't meant for the device.

The only thing at this point you can try, is to power off, hold the vol button (+ or -), then press and hold the power on button for 3 or 4 seconds, and see if it boots into some sort of recovery menu where you can do a reset. And this is a long shot.

Another long shot, is to pull and format the sd card, reinsert and see what happens.

Still a couple other long shot tries, but check the above first.

Really, for the same money, your friend could've bought a Cody tablet. And some of these you can root and rom. At least it's a recognized product.

Check the boot to recovery. Some devices require a different button combo, but they all involve the power button.