Password protection - Just while switching on ?!

zyxw

Apr 5, 2012
Visit site
Hello guys! I'm a newbie Android user.

After a bit of search, I am surprised that I couldn't find a simple password protection mechanism, neither in-built nor offered by any app!

By simple I mean..
My old Nokia phone (not a smartphone!) had this option called "Phone Lock" which when enabled will prompt you for password every time I switch on my phone. - I couldn't find this in Android.

The in-built mechanisms in Android ask for password/pattern every time display turns on.
I want to enter password just once: while switching on the phone.

I would like to know if any app out there offers what I look for.
If not, would like to know the reason behind not having this simple way of protection!

dbareis

Jan 15, 2010
Visit site
If an app like that existed then its as good as having no security so I doubt you will find one, there are apps like Delayed Lock that will make it much more infrequent (and some phones have this option also).

Perhaps you are thinking of a locked SIM, my (really) old nokia could be set up to ask for SIM pin every time it boots, you should be able to do that still.

Reactions: zyxw

PvilleComp

Jun 13, 2010
Visit site
Perhaps I'm not understanding what you are looking for.

Are you are looking for a password that only get's asked for when you start the phone from a power off state?

Or are you looking for a password that comes up when you launch the dialer?

Or are you looking for a way to delay the password after the screen times out?

If I remember correctly from my Nokia days, the Phone Lock was a key stroke that would lock the phone completely on demand. Otherwise it was unlocked.

This app let's you lock you phone/screen on demand but the device has to already have a password on it.
https://forums.androidcentral.com/e...epscreen&feature=search_result&token=pVwS1lvE..