Android Newbie here: a few basic questions

Argelius1

Apr 30, 2012
Visit site
Hello All,

I am along-time iPhone user who, because of his general gadget obsession, decided to get an Android phone (Google Galaxy Nexus, GSM) to play with for a while. Gotta say, I love the big screen. The iPhone 5 better have a larger screen, or I may forever be wedded to Android.

I've done my best to answer my questions (i.e. I've looked through the interwebs and these forums), but I've got a few random ones I need help with.

[1] I understand the Nexus/ICS did away with a dedicated search button. Can someone tell me how to quickly do a search. (On the iPhone you swipe to the left of the home screen and can search the phone and the Internet from there). I've added the Google Search widget, but rather than typing from in the search box, as soon as I touch it the search app opens up (and takes over the whole screen). Is there a quicker way to search for things (primarily on the phone)?

[2]Can you change what appears on the notification screen and status bar? For instance, I don't want to see notifications when apps have been installed, etc. Really just want SMS, email, voicemail, etc notifications? Is there a central place where this can be controlled, or is it application specific (with some notices, like app installation, that can't be turned off)?

[3] Can anyone recommend alternative email apps to GMail that play well with multiple (GMail) accounts? The stock app doesn't appear to have a unified inbox and I frequently find myself hunting for reply, forward, etc, which are frequently hidden in popup menus.

[4] I'm a little confused about the App Drawer (? is that the correct term) versus the home screens. Are the home screens meant to be customized with widgets and your favorite apps, with the rest of the apps hiding in the App drawer? I find the distinction a little confusing, but perhaps this is just my iOS brain thinking. (FYI I'm using GO Launcher EX).