1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default how do you guys switch up phones so much?

alot of you guys make it seem like you get a new phone a few times a year.
    well, i am going to start my own plan in a few months, teach me the tricks so i can get a new phone every year or so.
    i've always upgraded every 2 years (or like 18 months) on my parents plan. went from like
    moto krazr>bb storm>droid x> ??

Its a headache but Craigslist is really helpful. When you get into 4G territory it is easier, but personally for me, its not worth the risk.

- Sent from DiNc2

I either trade with/without cash or save up cash to get it and look for the best deals.

Sent from my MB860 using Tapatalk 2

Craigslist, people use their upgrades and sell brand new phones for like $400. Cheaper when slightly used

Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Android Central Forums

Global Posts
    52 Global Posts

Default Re: how do you guys switch up phones so much?

I'm an indie developer and sometimes I need to buy the latest phones for testing devices. Usually I'll try to get them cheap on local "used" sites or ebay, and if needed, I'll sell my older devices to help soften the blow.

Global Posts
    6,763 Global Posts
    ROM
    Stock 4.4 (KitKat)

Check with the carriers you plan on going with. Some may offer frequent upgrades (yearly) versus the typical 2-year upgrade. Also, going to Craigslist, Ebay, etc is a good way to get discounted phones. Keep in mind that by going this route you'll likely find deals with older devices, which is no problem at all unless if you want the latest and greatest.

Global Posts
    4,265 Global Posts
    ROM
    CM-7

At the end of the day changing phones like shirts is a $ losing proposition. When you get a new subsidized device you would have to then buy an off contract device and hope to sell the "old" device for a decent sum. Since it's only 6 months old you most likely can, depending on where you live.