How to update a new Android OS

Murphy5111

Nov 19, 2010
Visit site
Someone should really put down some instructions on how to update to a new OS since Google can seem to get it right (unless someone already has) . I've had two phones on two different carriers turn to crap after updating. When I updated to Gingerbread on my droid incredible, my bluetooth went to hell. When I updated my Epic 4G touch on sprint, my bluetooth, battery and bother things went to hell. All I did on both was click update. Maybe next time I should do a factory reset first? The crazy thing is that I even rolled back to gingerbread on my Epic 4G touch but my bluetooth never really recovered. Should I also remove all my pairings first? I'm not a complete noob but when jelly bean rolls around for my Gs3 I'm going to be a little hesitant.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Android Central Forums

Devinator

Sūpā Saiya-jin Fō
Jul 27, 2011
Visit site
When I updated my X2 the last time, my battery life got worse. But, I think that's just Moto's fault.

Try clearing cache, data, etc. on your Bluetooth and anything else that is having problems.

anon(847090)

Jul 8, 2012
Visit site
the problem with GB-->ICS update is that it has ton of changes and there is a possibility that it might break a few things.. thats why i start off fresh even with my JB update on my Nexus..
I got ICS 4 months ago i still started frsh with JB update..

due to the no of devices out there it hard to have a single instruction for all device...
but if you look at the right place you will get what to do... start fresh and you will have the least problems.

Reactions: Murphy5111

lethalgorman

Jan 31, 2012
Visit site
What do you mean by "fresh" exactly? A factory reset or a wipe or what, I'm just trying to learn, thanks. Also, do you know what A "Darkside" wipe is?

Sent from my A500 using Android Central Forums

srkmagnus

Retired Moderator
May 23, 2010
Visit site