Moving from iPhone to DroidX

mgurmgur

Jul 10, 2010
Visit site
Hey everyone,

My contract with AT&T is about to expire and I firmly decided to dump "we drop your calls and our customer service sucks" AT&T and "we make the decisions for you and we are evil" Apple.

As a complete Android newbie, I have a bunch of basic questions on Android; specifically, could someone give me some direction on the following:

1. I use iTunes to subscribe to 20+ podcasts, manage my music and video libraries. Could I use the iTunes with Android or I would need to switch to another program?

2. I would like to be able to open and read MS Word, MS Excel and PDF docs (both email attachments and syncs from the my main computer's HD) which app would you recommend?

3. Droid X comes with a 16GB SD card. Does that mean I could simply copy things onto this hard from my PC, and Droid X will recognize the data (mp3s, mpegs, PDFs?)

4. I have a brand-name Class 4 miniSD 16GB card.. what kind of miniSD card is included with Droid X - generic, cheaper, slower Class 2 card or a high quality one? Should I stick with Droid X's original miniSD card or use my own when in doubt?

5. Could I set up my Yahoo mail to be the default mail client, and not the Gmail? I've had my Yahoo email account for 15+ years, and do not plan on switching..

6. Some podcasts come with embedded photos.. will I be able to see the those embedded pictures on my Droid device?

7. is there a site with "top 20" or "top 100" apps for Android you'd recommend?

8. When will the desktop (PC) program that would allow me to look for new apps and backup the Droid X come out? How do I back up my Droid X now?

9. What kind of additional tips and hints would you give to someone who is switching from iPhone to a Droid? (i.e.: if you phone suddenly stopped dropping calls, or plays back Flash - don't freak out - it's normal)

Thank you all in advance,
Mark

Phil Nickinson

Android Central Editor Emeritus
Apr 21, 2009
Visit site