1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Question Is There a Danger in Enabling NFC?

Hi All:

I just started messing around with NFC with some tags I ordered and getting some good ideas on the forum for usage. And for background, I'm no developer- not even close.

Here's a little anecdote of what happened to me today at lunch at the local Panera. As usual, I pulled out my phone (AT&T SGS3) and set it on the tabletop. I heard a faint "ding" which is the sound my NFC notification makes. At first I didn't know where it came from. A few reenactments later, I determined it was indeed coming from my phone. I started looking under the table, placing it in different locations on the top, etc. Something was communicating with my phone that I hadn't given permission. So I started searching online, and eventually downloaded NFC Taginfo from the Play store. I opened it, scanned the table, and up popped information on the tag installed. I googled codes on the tag (first block was labeled "lrs") and found out it was most likely the table tracking system used by the restaurant to deliver your food. Now I'm all good with that, but...

The tag seemed to be rewritable. So here's my (obviously uneducated) concern. What is to stop someone from reprogramming such a tag (hidden or not) and enabling some kind of exploit? Easiest I could think of was to point your browser to some kind of site with malicious code written therein. Is this a possibility, or am I way off base? I mean, many of us place our phones on the table at some point, and tablets too. If NFC is enabled, can it be used against you? Or do they have some way of making those tags rewritable only by their hardware/software?

Thanks everyone for all the help. This site has been amazing. Cheers!

Default Odp: Is There a Danger in Enabling NFC?

That depends on tag you using go see nfc talk from googe io 2011 (or 10 dont remember ; p) to learn all about it. As for having it enabled matter, NFC works only when device is awake.