New to Android, need help?

Marute

Feb 13, 2013
Visit site
WARNING: Wall o' text coming up, thank you for reading.

I currently have a Nokia Lumia 800 Windows Phone, and since I like to try different smartphone experiences I consider Android for my next handset.

The thing is, however, that I find Android as an OS to be "hard to see through". What I mean by that is I see smartphones being sold today with older versions of the OS and even some new devices come to the market today with Android 4.1.x (e.g. LG Optimus G if I remember correctly?) when I have heard that 4.2 is the newest version as of this date. I want the newest and best, and I want a smartphone that isn't forgotten and left with old software a month or two after purchase. And I'm not sure how to be sure I get that with Android..?

That being said, there are key features in the user experience that I, due to the fact that I have no experience with Android, don't understand. Widgets for instance. What exactly do you use them for, do you download them separately in the Google Play Store or can any app be put on one of the many start screens as a widget? Speaking of start screens, how many can you have? And what are their purpose really? I know you have access to an app-list like it is for instance seen on iOS, but do the multiple start screens simply serve as alternative app lists where you can put what you desire or is there more to it?