Tethering speeds slow to a crawl.....

DwD44

Apr 3, 2013
Visit site
Unfortunately, despite my best efforts to find a better alternative, where I live my only option for unlimited internet with any speed whatsoever is to tether my DROID DNA phone to my computer using the app PdaNet. I've been doing this for over a year now without any problems. I don't use my laptop very much, so I'm mainly just tethering with a USB cable to my desktop PC. I have an unlimited data plan through Verizon and although I only have 3G at my house, it is still far better than anything else I've found.

Recently I started playing World of Warcraft. Obviously the speed isn't ideal, but it worked perfectly fine for about 3 weeks. One night the game started to get really slow and after a minute or two would freeze up entirely. When this happened, I would have an error message on my phone at the PdaNet screen that read "Communication with client has been broken." Despite restarting things, this continued to happen. I assumed that it was because the weather was bad outside, but the problem didn't go away the next day. When I noticed that my internet speed when browsing the web had slowed down as well I figured that although I supposedly have unlimited data, that Verizon must have slowed me down for crossing over a certain download barrier. I've heard that they do this.