What is RUU? XDA? ROM?

hellohellosharp

Aug 15, 2013
Visit site
Hey everyone,

I rooted my device with TWRP since a lot of people recommended it. I am somewhat of a computer geek but a complete newbie when it comes to Android and mobile applications.

My phone recently downloaded a system upgrade, 1.27.531.11 fro T-Mobile HTC One.

I want to do the upgrade without removing root from the phone. However, whenever I try and Google this I am bombarded with terms like RUU Xda ROM etc. What does all this mean? Can someone point me in the right direction for upgrading my phone? I think I need to do a custom ROM flash but I have no idea where to find the files or what to do with them.

Thanks so much!

Golfdriver97

Trusted Member Team Leader
Dec 4, 2012
Visit site
Hey everyone,

I rooted my device with TWRP since a lot of people recommended it. I am somewhat of a computer geek but a complete newbie when it comes to Android and mobile applications.

My phone recently downloaded a system upgrade, 1.27.531.11 fro T-Mobile HTC One.

I want to do the upgrade without removing root from the phone. However, whenever I try and Google this I am bombarded with terms like RUU Xda ROM etc. What does all this mean? Can someone point me in the right direction for upgrading my phone? I think I need to do a custom ROM flash but I have no idea where to find the files or what to do with them.

Thanks so much!

Welcome to the forums!
While I don't know that answer myself (as that is HTC specific), I can get one of the other Ambassadors to answer.

Scott Kenyon

Apr 2, 2011
Visit site
A ruu file is a one shot restore file with stipulations. It's not like a rom, you don't need a custom recovery to use one. You do need to have a locked bootloader, though. This file runs on Windows or a windows emulator and will restore your phone to stock functionality all on it's own.
XDA is a forum, that's it.
Rom is usually in reference to custom firmware, though there are stock roms. Do a lot of reading.