Need help with Gmail IMAP setup

ChanHol

May 16, 2013
Visit site
I'm new to Android, and am on a Nexus 4. I can't get Gmail/IMAP set up on any apps other than the Gmail app.

I simply cannot use the stock Gmail app because of conversation view. Without debating the merits of conversation view, it is simply dysfunctional for my needs, and there is no way to turn it off on the Gmail app. So that app is out. And that's where I have hit a roadblock.

When I try to set up Gmail/IMAP in the Email app, K-9, AquaMail and MailDroid, I get errors.

For starters, I am trying to do this via WiFi. At first, I thought that perhaps the problem was a port block, by I am able to telnet to all relevant ports at the servers, so that's not the case. I have triple-checked the IMAP is enabled in my Gmail acct, and I found a link to check to make sure my account wasn't locked, and that Google link indicates that it's all good.

WIth K-9, the problem is the outgoing mail server. I can receive mail (though some times like this morning, it will take 30 minutes before new messages appear, after turning the phone on). That's annoying, but at least it eventually works. The outgoing server settings I'm using:
SMTP: smtp.gmail.com
Security: SSL/TLS (always) [though I've tried all options here, none solve the problem]
Port: 465 [and I've tried 587]
Authentication: LOGIN [I've also tried none, "Automatic", "Plain", "CRAM-MD5"]
Username: full gmail address
Password: obviously quadruple-checked to make sure it is right

For the stock Email app, I cannot even get incoming configured:
Username/password correct
IMAP server: imap.gmail.com
Port: 993
Security: SSL/TLS [again, here I've tried all options]
IMAP path prefix [left blank]

When I click "next", it checks the settings and returns an error: "Couldn't finish - Couldn't open connection to server."

MailDroid and AqualMail, same problems -- cannot set up incoming or outgoing.