Text Message Download Question

Hollyberries

Sep 20, 2013
Visit site
I am a newbie android user and have a question about text messages I am receiving on my S4. For the 2nd time in 2 weeks I have received a text message from a local cell phone #, that comes through as a download. I didn't open the first one, and just deleted it thinking it was spam, however I got another one today and it made me wonder. I am a party plan salesperson, so it isn't uncommon for me to get calls/texts from non-contacts. My question is, am I safe to hit the download button and not have anything bad happen to my phone? I'm afraid that I may be missing out on a customer sale by not downloading the text.

Ryandroid86

May 1, 2012
Visit site
I am a newbie android user and have a question about text messages I am receiving on my S4. For the 2nd time in 2 weeks I have received a text message from a local cell phone #, that comes through as a download. I didn't open the first one, and just deleted it thinking it was spam, however I got another one today and it made me wonder. I am a party plan salesperson, so it isn't uncommon for me to get calls/texts from non-contacts. My question is, am I safe to hit the download button and not have anything bad happen to my phone? I'm afraid that I may be missing out on a customer sale by not downloading the text.

There should be an option in the messaging settings to have "auto download"
This is most likely a photo someone is sending you. Two options, It didnt download because of your network connection. Or you have the option setting off.
Depending on you carrier. Some still make you "download" the message if its over 3 text lengths long.

B. Diddy

Senior Ambassador
Mar 9, 2012
Visit site