Syncing with Outlook 2003

njmom

Aug 31, 2010
Visit site
Hi,
My Evo just arrived and I need some some help syncing to Outlook. I have been using outlook to sync to my Treo for 12 years and I am just a tab nervous about this. I am thinking companion link software with the cable is my best bet. I would love to be able to sync my contacts, email, tasks, calendar, and memos. What do you guys recommend for this.

PvilleComp

Jun 13, 2010
Visit site
The HTC sync app will sync outlook Contacts and Calendar, but not Tasks and Memos. You can connect to your e-mail through the mail app. The HTC Sync app should be on the phone storage and visable once you connect with the USB.

Hope this helps

Vudumedic

Jul 19, 2010
Visit site
So I have a question to throw out here. I can get the calendar to sync fine using the HTC sync app but it does not import the added events from the phone calender to outlook. I am setting them all in the PC sync calender. Is there a setting I missed or is this just the way it is?

ericdives

Sep 18, 2010
ericdives.com
I know this might sound a little callous, but it's time to move away from using Outlook for anything other than Exchange based email.

The email app (at least on the Epic 4G) can handle live syncing of Exchange, IMAP, and POP3 accounts.

For your calendar and contacts, I would suggest establishing a GMail account.

For your computer, I would suggest switching to Thunderbird to sort/handle your IMAP and POP3 mail (or, for POP3, you can have GMail automatically import it). You can find a plugin for Thunderbird that will import and allow the management of your Google Contacts. If you wanted, you can also have it pull mail from Google's servers via IMAP.

Once your calendar and contacts are on GMail, it's a no brainer to get them onto your Android phone and everything is synced live (or at least fairly quickly).