Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By B. Diddy
  • 1 Post By mrsmumbles
  • 2 Post By missdreamweaver
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Question Lots of Potentially Interrelated Issues

Yay, I graduated from my flip phone and got a hand-me-down HTC EVO Shift 4G. I am usually adept enough to figure out most computer things eventually, but I'm having some troubles getting this thing to do what it ought to, and I think these problems might be related.

First of all, I had troubles getting my gmail account linked. I knew it was the right password, because I used it to sign in on the computer, but it didn't work. This happened once before when I tried to check my mail on a friend's phone, but when I checked my email on a computer the next day, I had gotten an email saying that someone had tried to get into my mail and it was suspicious, and I was offered some code or something (i forget what cause I didn't care at the time) to fix the issue. But this time I didn't get an email regarding a security breech.

I decided to try something else and come back to that later. I played around with my available apps for a little bit before deciding I wanted to download some more. But to get into the Market I was prompted to Sync with my Google account. After it failed again I decided to try a new approach. I changed my password on the computer and when I tried the new password on my phone I was allowed so Sync for the first time on my phone. Weird but okay, whatever.

I found a few apps and clicked to download. The phone said 'your download will begin shortly'. I tried 3 different apps multiple times, but kept getting the same error message: Downloading failed, please try again (or something close to that). I looked online at some forums that suggested a variety of things, and so I tried a bunch of stuff. Turned it on and off again, took out the battery pack, tried clearing various caches or whatever.