1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Question Phone not working - should I root?

Sorry, as you can see I'm completely new to this forum and have no idea where I should post this. If this is in the wrong place, please let me now!

So I have a Galaxy S3 Mini and it rained the other day and the screen got wet. Right after that, the back/menu touch buttons stopped working properly, the lights keep blinking and they keep activating without me doing anything which makes trying to use the phone really annoying. I took my phone to a shop and they told me they would have to replace the entire screen for $450. So, no way in hell this is happening.

I've been reading on how to fix this problem and found out that I can turn off the buttons by rooting my phone. I have zero knowledge on how to achieve this though, but I'd be willing to try since otherwise I pretty much have an useless phone anyway.

What do you guys think?

Thanks for the help!

Default Re: Phone not working - should I root?

Check this out to root.

Really not sure if rooting the phone will actually help. But I'm going to try and find a mod that adds on screen navigation buttons.

Posted via Android Central App
  3. Thread Author  Thread Author    #3  

Thank you, I'll look into it.

Would be great if I could solve my problem without rooting, I'm too afraid I'll screw it up, but I don't know what to do.

ROM
    AreaROM 3.0 or CM7.0.1

1) Water got into the phone. It caused damage. Replacing the screen might fix a damaged screen - IF the screen is damaged. It won't fix the rest of the damage inside the phone.

2) Unless this is some new phone I haven't read about yet, $450 for a screen replacement is just ... well, I'll take a part-time job at that rate any day. Even though I'd have to give up a nice comfortable retirement to do it. Talk about minting money and not even having to touch the printing press. You can buy a gently used S3 (not mini) for $100 less than that. Working.