Email tweaking

gzen1

Jun 9, 2010
Visit site
Noob here. Switching from BB 8530 (Aries) to Droid 2 (in the mail). Being a BB user, I have concerns regarding the setup of email on my new Droid 2. I currently love the way BB allows me to select whether I want to just delete an email from the phone or from both the phone and inbox (Gmail). I use Gmail as my primary email just to let you know. I like being able to select to have the message deleted from the phone only so that when I boot up my computer (Mac) and launch MacMail, the emails that I want will be downloaded to my MacMail so I can have an offline copy to use as I please.

I have searched the forums and stickies extensively and have not found my particular issue covered. Currently, I have both POP and IMAP enabled on my Gmail account and everything works flawlessly. But, I'm wondering how I can accomplish my goal of being able to still download emails to MacMail that I have already opened from my droid phone (presumably using the Gmail app).

I assume (yes, I know that's dangerous) that the Gmail app uses IMAP. So, what I'm thinking is that I could use the Gmail app to view my email on my phone and if I decide that a particular email is something I will want to have MacMail download on my laptop later then, when finished reading the email on my droid phone via Gmail app, I could simply mark the email as "unread" from the Gmail app. Then, since my account in MacMail is set up as a POP account, MacMail will then download the messages that I read on my phone and then marked as "unread." It seems plausible since I have both POP and IMAP enabled within Gmail.

So, my question is: will this work? I realize the experience will not be exactly the same as on my BB, but I wouldn't mind if all I had to do was mark the email as unread once I've read it on my droid phone.