Why use an app instead of the website?

bromberg

Dec 1, 2013
Visit site
I understand the benefits of any app which offers a unique functionality. However, why is there an app for an existing website? For example, I have a GMail account that I've been using for a many years, so why is there a "GMail app"? Can't I simply log into my GMail account on my Android device just as I have been doing on my desktop all this time? i.e., why do I need an app for that?

Also, since I have an off-brand Android tablet (made by Emerson), they have their own app store. Why can't I go to the well know play.google.com website and get my apps from there ?!?
Thanks,
Dan

Sizzers

Feb 19, 2013
Visit site
I understand the benefits of any app which offers a unique functionality. However, why is there an app for an existing website? For example, I have a GMail account that I've been using for a many years, so why is there a "GMail app"? Can't I simply log into my GMail account on my Android device just as I have been doing on my desktop all this time? i.e., why do I need an app for that?

Also, since I have an off-brand Android tablet (made by Emerson), they have their own app store. Why can't I go to the well know play.google.com website and get my apps from there ?!?
Thanks,
Dan

Yes, you can click on your browser, click on your bookmarks, then you can click on Gmail - three presses instead of one, plus you won't get email notifications by using the web version. Your choice, you don't have to use it and it can always be disabled.

With regards to your second question I believe you may find the answer here http://androidforums.com/android-applications/652935-new-emerson-4-3-tablet-owner.html

B. Diddy

Senior Ambassador
Mar 9, 2012
Visit site