Question about Helium backup app

monsow

Jan 18, 2014
Visit site
Hello guys!

I'm new to android, and have a question regarding my backup app, Helium.

I basically know how to use the app, and how to backup/restore my phone.

However, after watching this video: How to backup your Android phone with Carbon App Sync and Backup - YouTube (Android Authority)
I've got one question about Helium. In the video, he says: "also, if your phone is non-rooted, you'll need to run Carbon (Helium) desktop installer everytime you reboot your device" (2:41 - 2:48).

I don't exactly know what this means. If I turn off my phone for some reason, maybe if I am at an exam, will I then really have to plug my phone into my computer, and then run the desktop app before my phone can work again?

I would really like some clarification.

Thanks in advance!

anon(847090)

Jul 8, 2012
Visit site
Hello guys!

I'm new to android, and have a question regarding my backup app, Helium.

I basically know how to use the app, and how to backup/restore my phone.

However, after watching this video: How to backup your Android phone with Carbon App Sync and Backup - YouTube (Android Authority)
I've got one question about Helium. In the video, he says: "also, if your phone is non-rooted, you'll need to run Carbon (Helium) desktop installer everytime you reboot your device" (2:41 - 2:48).

I don't exactly know what this means. If I turn off my phone for some reason, maybe if I am at an exam, will I then really have to plug my phone into my computer, and then run the desktop app before my phone can work again?

I would really like some clarification.

Thanks in advance!

Yes, that's correct. if you are not rooted then you have to do that every time you reboot the phone

someguy01234

Nov 9, 2011
Visit site