Need help on how to play music from your phone to speakers

edict17

Apr 21, 2014
Visit site
Hello, I'm new to using an android phone and I can't seem to figure out how to play music using the speakers. I connected the speakers to my phone and played music using the google music player and the sound still comes from my phone's built-in speakers and not to the connected one. I'm not sure if I'm using the correct jack but it seems to be the same size as the one on the phone's headset. Does anybody know how I can play music through the connected speakers? Hope you can help me, thanks! :)

B. Diddy

Senior Ambassador
Mar 9, 2012
Visit site
Welcome to Android Central! Do your speakers have their own cable, or are you using a separate male-to-male audio cable? Is the plug completely in the jack? You should feel or hear a click when it's in all the way. Also, compare the speaker plug with your headphone plug--is the plug exactly the same, or are the contact bands in different places?

edict17

Apr 21, 2014
Visit site
Yes, my speakers have their own cable. The plug is also completely in the jack. I haven't really noticed how different the two plugs are..I just assumed that my speakers would work since it worked before on my ipod(my mistake). The contact bands on the 2 plugs are different, though:

here is a pic of the 2 plugs together:

IMG_20140421_162727.jpg

the left one is for my headset, right one is for the speakers.

garublador

May 20, 2013
Visit site
Make sure it's plugged in all the way. I have a couple of audio jacks that don't fit all that well into my S4. It might take some twisting and jiggling to get it to connect right. Better yet, find a short extension cable that fits well and use that. Bluetooth speakers might be another option if you are able to use something different from what you have now.

B. Diddy

Senior Ambassador
Mar 9, 2012
Visit site