Is anyone here actually actively using GroupMe (for small group messaging) ?

KeenAndroid3

Mar 15, 2014
Visit site
I'm trying to determine if GroupMe is genuinely practical for our daily use.

I dont see a lot of users. But I could really use a 'group' tool for our card club (about 14 members).

Are people willing to download an app to be a part of a group?

How do you get them to do that?

I currently have some friends on facebook (we have a fb group) BUT most members are not on fb....so we have a tough time staying organized.

Any suggestions appreciated!!

Regarding sms/text messages: Group messaging is not practical for us as some members really dont like a LOT of incoming text messages....esp from everyone in the group....hence our interest in GroupMe. Thanks.

Last edited:

raptir

Sep 4, 2010
Visit site
I haven’t used GroupMe in particular but I have some more general experience. I would say that the more “techy” users are typically more resistant to installing an application for a single purpose. It really depends on your group. I would ask everyone the next time you meet and gauge interest.

For an alternative, have you considered Hangouts? I use it for group messaging and it works very well. You can even “unsubscribe” from individual hangouts so that you won’t receive notifications but can still get to the messages. You also get the big advantage that it’s pre-installed on Android and since it’s from Google it may seem more trustworthy than GroupMe to iPhone users.

raptir

Sep 4, 2010
Visit site
Do iPhone users really use google hangouts?

I know a few who do, and the iPhone app is just as good as the Android app. Like I said, the two pros for it are 1) more than half your users will already have it installed (statistically) and 2) the remaining users will not have much issue installing software from Google compared to "mindless dribble inc."