Can't Remove Device Administrator

heatherfl

Dec 21, 2010
Visit site
I'm new to Android (LG Optimus S) so maybe I'm missing something but I downloaded a lock screen widget today - http://www.appbrain.com/app/lock-screen-widget/com.droidmania.lockscreenwidget
and I can't uninstall it to save my life. I am not totally ignorant, I read the special instructions to remove the widget as a device administrator and tried that first but it just lets me select Deactivate but does not actually deactive, it stays as an administrator no matter what I do, so then the app won't uninstall.

Any advice is much appreciated! Thanks!

http://www.appbrain.com/app/lock-screen-widget/com.droidmania.lockscreenwidget

Last edited:

Prof-KOS

May 22, 2010
Visit site
I've tried it with my N1 and it uninstalled fine. A couple of things to try. Have you removed the widget from the home screen? If the widget is active, it may not remove as device admin.

You can also go into the application manager and see if ti is running. I suspect that it wouldn't be, but it's worth a check. If the button 'Force stop' is not grayed out try hitting that.

Beyond this, you should email the dev (contact on the market page) or wait until someone more familiar with device admin responds here.

heatherfl

Dec 21, 2010
Visit site
Yes, I first removed the widget, then went to try to remove it from the device admin and couldn't, so I did do a force stop and tried again to no avail. I rebooted, reinstalled, etc etc and it would never let me remove it as device admin. I ended up saying to heck with it after an hour and did a factory data reset because I haven't had the phone that long and could get it back to where I had it easily enough. I will email the dev though...but I notice on their own web site that that particular toggle is not even listed anymore....hmmm. Thanks for your help! The reviews were mixed, I thought the people who cried "Don't download it - won't uninstall" just didn't follow directions lol.