Will disabling 4G get past '3G only' compatibility for BYOP programs of Verizon-based MVNOs?

Skizane

May 15, 2015
Visit site
Hi everybody. I'm new to the smartphone game, so allow me to apologize in advance if I'm asking a monstrously stupid question here, but I've been reading up on things and getting some conflicting information.

My situation is that I'm switching from a feature phone on Verizon to a Total Wireless prepaid plan, not entirely willingly. They offer a BYOP option, and state that only 3G Verizon phones will be compatible. They are a TracFone owned company, who started out with the same 3G only limitation only to phase in 4G LTE service as they went along, and reps have made comments on their Facebook page that they plan to make 4G available eventually as well.

I thought I'd pick up a used GS3 off ebay as I really like them and my budget is limited, before I learned Verizon's models are all 4G capable. I called a couple different reps with IMEIs to check compatibility and all told me the numbers checked out, but some said only 3G models would work while one said 3G or 4G were acceptable. They all sounded like they were just reading off their monitors, and none would elaborate on anything, so they don't seem like they're really up on the game plan.

The options for 3G only phones are pretty limited, and I'd hate to buy something and have them introduce 4G service in a few months and not be able to access it.