Why wan't to join a Right To Root campaign?

James Freeman6

Jun 3, 2015
Visit site
Right To Root

Hi Everyone, I am a new member to the forum, and am looking for information on Rooting your phone. I am no newbie to smartphones, an avid user and lover of Android, and the one thing that does my head in.... sacrificing the warranty to actually get the user to do what you want it to. This is a UK only consideration, as I understand other countries do not limit the access of root and the impacts on warranty.

I want to learn more and understand WHY you have to sacrifice one for the other. The reason, I am going to research this, and the hope is that if I can gather enough understanding, and make a fair enough argument, I would like to put together a "Right To Root" campaign. The plan, is to try and get manufacturers to allow users to have more control over their phone, whilst at the same time, allowing the user to keep control of the warranty.

I personally see this as buying a new windows laptop, but the company has set up the administrator account, and they allocate each user a "limited" account. Why? I bought the hardware and the right to use the software, I want to be able to use the whole thing! For too long, I feel manufacturers have gotten away with passing off rightful claims, such as faulty touchscreens, faulty hardware etc because the phone appears to be rooted.

At the end of the day, why should the fact I have unlocked the phone to install software to take control of bloatware, or to keep the phone clean, have any effect on a physical hardware fault.

I dont know if this is the first time anyone has tried to launch a campaign, or if its even worth it, so the more detail I can gather, the better! Would anyone be interested in joining such a campaign?

Rukbat

Retired Moderator
Feb 12, 2012
Visit site
Re: Right To Root