Accidentally deleted SMS conversation! Cannot recover - please help!

jackdlm

Sep 30, 2015
Visit site
Hi all,

I accidentally deleted a conversation on my Nexus 5 (using the Messenger app instead of Hangouts) and all I want to do is get it back. I've had the phone on airplane mode since I realised what I had done.

I did a bit of research and ended up paying for Wondershare Dr Fone which promised to get my deleted messages back, but no luck. It ends up not connecting to the phone:
PleaseHelp1.jpg

The support for this piece of software is offline... so I downloaded a trial of FonePaw Android Data Recovery which seems to have got further in the process but only reaches this:
PleaseHelp2.jpg

I did some more research and found out that this software actually requires your phone to be rooted for it to scan for the deleted messages. I looked into rooting as I have never done it before, but saw mixed results about rooting phones and didn't have any reason to trust some of the rooting software.

So now I'm stuck and I thought I'd come to the most popular Android forum as somebody here may have been in a similar situation and will know how to help. If the Wondershare software will work, I'm comfortable rooting my phone if there is a straight forward guide to run me through it, and a bit of reassurance that it won't wipe my phone.

If anybody is able to help then that would be great! I'm losing the will to live...

Thanks!

Last edited:

jackdlm

Sep 30, 2015
Visit site
Try your carrier's website, many now have web access to Sms message
Unfortunately not, they don't share/provide that. :(

Every piece of software that I try pretty much hints that I need to root my phone? As I said above I'm happy to do this but I'm reading that it wipes data from the phone?

Crashdamage

Jan 18, 2015
Visit site