Welcome to the Android Central Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By font1975
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Default What is a Stock Android?

Sorry if this is a stupid question, but I am a newbie when it comes to Androids and I am trying to learn as much as I can before selecting my very first one.

What does it mean to be called a 'Stock' Android or 'Stock Style'?

I tried to search the forums for an answer, but am not seeing one.

Thanks.

I'm a newbie too but I'll take a stab. I believe it means your phone is just as it is from the factory, not rooted or rom'd.
  3. Thread Author  Thread Author    #3  

So, from things I remember reading, you think it means that the phone is locked and cannot be rooted? I believe I read that Motorola phones are locked.

"Stock Android" generally refers to phones that use the Android system without modification.

Samsung, HTC, Motorola, LG; all use their own UI or "skin" on top of Android. They do this to differentiate their phones, but also to add tools and features they think their customers will like.

The carriers also get involved in this and add their own apps, like VCast or VZNavigator (on Verizon). A "stock" device doesn't add anything; the Android you see is as Google intended. No extra apps loaded, no extra things added to the interface.

Now, the truth is, I don't think there are any 100% stock phones; even the Nexus line. (Can't wait to get flamed for that one!). Even the Nexus phones use a modified "launcher"; I don't believe you get the neat cube effect in the base-build of Android. (At least not in the dev tools version).
    Thanked by:
    Arup Ghosh likes this.

Stock android or Vanilla android is when a phone runs android without the manufacturer adding anything to it, like sense or moto blur.
    Thanked by: