Samsung Gal SII Jelly Bean - Gallery? Google "Photos"? What's the difference?

Mike Selvage

Apr 10, 2014
Visit site
After purchasing my wife a new Cell Phone I inherited her old Samsung Gal SII with Android Jelly Bean (4.1.1) on it. I "wiped" it and did a clean "factory reset" install. It is only operating off WiFi as there is no SIM card or External SD Card (she took them for her new phone).

Being a former IT professional I see no need for "Sync" anything. With true "Sync" if you delete from one source it is automatically deleted from the "synced" source. Not something I want for Pictures or short Videos. I want those "backed up" or "copied" to the cloud source under "manual" control (I pick when they are all "uploaded").

If I want to show others pictures / videos stored on my "Google Drive" I have a "Google Drive" app for that. No system resources wasted (especially important on a phone with less resources).

The phone came with "Gallery" installed. She downloaded / installed "Photos" as she seemed to like it more. Seems to me they are the same thing - twice.

So, do I need both? If so/not how do I set the phone up where it can download my gmail automatically but leave the photos / videos on the phone until I choose to upload them to a cloud server?

Thank you in advance, your reply(s) are appreciated.

Mike Selvage

Apr 10, 2014
Visit site