Welcome to the Android Central Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Global Posts
    16 Global Posts

Default Applications just go away!!!

Ok so I admit I am a newbie, coming over to the Incredible after 3 years as a blackberry tour and then bold user. I have been looking around for the past couple of days on the forum, reading the beginner tips and tricks, apps to have, etc. I know that the pre installed apps stay on the phone unless you root. (which sucks) I understand you can't hide the apps you don't use. My question is how do the apps keep running even though I have 1) killed them with my advances task killer and 2) and also click force stop by going through settings->applications->manage applications-> clicking the app and then force stop.

The ones I have the most trouble with is cityid, skype, vcast apps, amazonmp3, Peep and a couple others. Does anyone know the cause of these apps to begin running even after killing them or making a force stop. I can literally kill an app click task killer 5 min later and half of the same list is back. Thank you for your time and help.

Global Posts
    1,596 Global Posts
    ROM
    Teamhacksung's ICS

The apps restart automatically. As useless as they are, someone decided they needed to be running all the time, so they restart when killed.

Tip: Don't bother with the task killer. If anything, it's just hurting.

ROM
    EEO3 Gingerrrrrr

I could be wrong, but it could be possible that the apps you want to kill could be apps that are affected by the background data setting or auto sync setting.

Go to menu--> settings--> accounts and sync to turn the settings off and see if it still happens
  4. Thread Author  Thread Author    #4  

Global Posts
    16 Global Posts