general question as i'm new to android from blackberry

adammcgovern

Apr 20, 2011
Visit site
I'm new to android from blackberry and have a very basic question that could use some clarification. That said, don't kill me here. I'm a little foggy regarding the difference between a widget and an app. I've seen what i think of as an app where widgets can be downloaded so I was wonering if there was some kind of acute difference specific to android(i did google widget before posting this and understand the basic principle). Anyway, any help is appreciated

baseballfanz

Oct 14, 2010
Visit site
A widget is like an extension of the app.
On your home screen are shortcuts. the shortcuts only take you to the app and you would still need to do whatever you need.
A widget however let you do certain things straight from home screen.
Example music player, no widget mean you would have to click on the shortcut to open music app then click play our pause ect....
Music widget on hone screen let you control the music player without having to go into the app itself. Hope that make sense

Reactions: adammcgovern

takeshi

Jan 27, 2010
Visit site
Stick some widgets on your home screen and see for yourself. Some of the apps you already have loaded probably have widgets. Don't be afraid to play around. You can always remove unwanted widgets at any time.

kamtsa

Aug 6, 2010
Visit site
When you download an 'app' from the app market, you download a 'package' that may contain a bunch of stuff, for example an 'app' and related 'widgets' or just an 'app' or just 'widgets'.

You can launch (open) apps using their icons (in the app drawer) or in the home screen.

Widgets on the other hand you don't open but add once to the home screen. Once in the home screen, a widget takes a small portion of the home screen and can show information such as weather or battery status, interact with your clicks, etc, like a smar icon.