Upgraded to Gingerbread ROM, but Can't Access Data

zzzvariety

Apr 15, 2011
Visit site
Noob here, so please speak with as few acronyms as possible :)

I did a backup in Titanium Backup and ClockworkMod 3.0 through ROM Manager (which I just installed), but when I upgraded to a new ROM - Gingerbread, the ROM looked good, but all my data and info is gone, and the new operating system no longer lets me see ROM Manager or Titanium Backup, so how do I restore it but keep Gingerbread as my new ROM?

In an attempt to fix my Epic 4G's gps problem, I thought I read that simply flashing Gingerbread would do the trick, so I followed the instructions, and all seems to be going weel. I think maybe that GPS bit was wrong, but that's a bit besides the point.

I'm hoping there's a simple solution to this, besides starting over or going back to the old operating system. Keep in mind, it's now 5 AM, and I barely knew what I was doing before, so I hope I'm making sense. If the phone would just work the way it's supposed to, I wouldn't have had to get into this mess in the first place...

THANKS

srkmagnus

Retired Moderator
May 23, 2010
Visit site
Which ROM are you using? I know it's Gingerbread, but is it CM7 (CyanogenMod)? When you install a new ROM you will always loose all the phones information because a factory reset is needed. This includes all apps and settings. You can backup most everything with Titanium Backup or Mybackup Pro before you install a new ROM and restore the files.

If you no longer have the Market app then this means you installed an aosp (android open source project) ROM. You need to find the gapps file (google apps) and flash that to the phone. Re-download Titanium Backup and restore what you saved.

The Google Apps file can be found under the download ROM tab. Hope this helps, let me know if you get it up and running.

edit - The Titanium Backup files are stored on the sd card. Be careful not to delete this file if you want to restore.

Last edited: