Podcast management

dvdmon

Apr 23, 2011
Visit site
So, I'm pretty new to Android, just bought an Evo 3D, and I'm trying to figure out my podcast solution. I'm a very active listener of podcasts, but probably a somewhat peculiar one, as I have tons of archived podcasts that I'm trying to get through and not just listen to whatever the latest shows are.

Essentially, what I've been doing is keeping everything in iTunes, which to me is an ideal manager except that it's PC-based, and geared towards Apple devices. Still, I've been able to sync with it to my Palm Pre for the last two years (via Salling Media Sync). Salling doesn't seem to work on my Evo 3D, and so I need to figure out other options.

I know I could try out something like iSyncr to do this, and may end up going that route.

I also have Google Music Beta and Amazon running and all or most of my content is on these, but the problem (challenge) is the playlists, particularly smart playlists, that I use extensively.

I have a smart playlist that gives me all my podcasts under a specific time, sorted by time length, which is how I like to listen - try to get the "easy" ones out of the way first. But then I have smart playlists for each show sorted by how recent the show is, so that when/if I get done with the time playlist, I can go to one of the shorter show-based playlists.

What I guess I'm looking for is something that can a) download older episodes of shows, not just the last 10, and b) has smart-playlist like functionality built in, so I don't have to constantly construct playlists manually in the app.

Of course I'd love a cloud-based solution, but it seems that neither Google Music nor Amazon Cloud Drive will sync smart playlists at this time. Stitcher is interesting, but doesn't give you any control of how you listen, sorting, etc.