Pruning the Android Garden

trick202

Jun 18, 2010
Visit site
I couldn't agree more with this article:

How Google's Failing the Android App Market

The market is awash with sub-standard dross. Open source should not be an excuse for mediocrity.
I have read countless reports about the purchasing habits (or lack thereof) of Android users Vs iPhone users, and disposable income differences etc - but I'm loathed to believe that stuff for the time being.

What does everyone else think?

Personally, If I was a dev with no axe to grind with regards to which platform I wrote for - I'd pick Apple every time.

So, as Hardcore Android users, what do you think about your marketplace? Do you think it needs Google to prune it a little? Some minimum standards? Some streamlining? Or, do you love it the way it is?

By the way, this is an Android/Google discussion - not an Apple/iPhone flaming session. Lets keep it on-topic please.

ceriem

Jun 23, 2010
Visit site
I think if the market gets regulated, then that will lead to apps getting denied (duh!). This is a seriously double edged sword.

The good: Bad, harmful, untrustworthy, useless apps will not be in the marketplace. Awesome. It is way to easy to steal someone's mobile data or brick someone's phone with a dangerous app with the status quo.

The bad: Google can reject apps that interfere with Android functions or do things Google doesn't want the phone to be used for (like Apple does). This could mean better tethering apps are shut down. Gmail or google maps replacements denied. Alternative music players no let in.

The good and bad almost outweigh each other. It really depends on what you think is more of a problem, bad apps or bad overseers. Personally, I just avoid apps that get bad reviews or seem sketchy in general (like a tip calculator wanting permission to access phone usage or something).