Welcome to the Android Central Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Question In the market for my first tablet, and looking at the Nexus 7. But I need help from Nexus 7 users.

As I mentioned when introducing myself, I'm a programmer by trade, and a collector of antiquated hardware by inclination. I'm looking for a small, inexpensive tablet that I'll likely be able to use indefinitely. At the moment, the 8G Nexus 7 looks rather appealing.

I'm very specifically not looking for a smart phone; I prefer having a cell phone that does little more than my landline phone does, on a voice-only plan. And I'm very specifically not looking to replace my 486 DOS-only notebook; the software I use on it runs beautifully. I read real books, not e-books. I don't download recorded music or video; I buy it on media.

But I do a good deal of traveling, taking two vacations a year (sometimes three), and therein lies the need: I find that while more and more hotels have free WiFi for guests, fewer and fewer have free internet carrels. Library internet carrels, though usually free, frequently not even requiring one to apply for a library card, are also usually overcrowded. And while the carrels at Kinko's aren't usually overcrowded, they are usually expensive.

I'd like to be able to give up my dependency on internet carrels, without having to replace either the notebook or the cell phone. But some issues surfaced when I tried one at a local Staples, issues on which Google Play tech support was profoundly unhelpful.