My moms new 4.4.2 vs my 4.0.4 - mine is better?

pawprints86

May 10, 2013
Visit site
When she got hers, I played around with it a bit expecting to find alot more features and settings that mine didnt have. Thats not the case at all! In fact, mine has MORE options and features. Why is that? Maybe they were trying to mimic a simple to the point OS like Apple or something.

Im glad I chose not to upgrade just yet! lol.

Am I the only one who prefers the older OS? I have no experience with anything in between those 2, just seems strange that the older device OS can do more things. Simple things - like display the battery percentage (yes, i found the app, but still, why is an APP necessary?? Its a basic feature on mine lol).

B. Diddy

Senior Ambassador
Mar 9, 2012
Visit site
The battery icon was probably more of a stylistic/design language change. With KitKat, Google wanted to get away from multi-colored icons in the notification bar, and they may have wanted to make things look more minimalistic.

zorak950

Feb 2, 2011
Visit site
Did vanilla Android ever display the battery percentage in the status bar? I thought that was always a third-party thing.

zorak950

Feb 2, 2011
Visit site
As to the OP's question, I prefer the newest version. Aside from the SD card debacle, I can't think of any significant features that have been removed from Android. The differences you're seeing probably have more to do with the device than the OS version. Different manufacturers add different features to the AOSP/Google stuff.

Sizzers

Feb 19, 2013
Visit site
The battery icon was probably more of a stylistic/design language change. With KitKat, Google wanted to get away from multi-colored icons in the notification bar, and they may have wanted to make things look more minimalistic.

Well an explanation here: http://www.androidpolice.com/2013/1...nd-only-shows-connectivity-in-quick-settings/