Welcome to the Android Central Forums Create Your Account or Ask a Question Answers in 5 minutes - no registration required!
Like Tree3Likes
  • 2 Post By Rukbat
  • 1 Post By RumoredNow
  1. Thread Author  Thread Author    #1  

Global Posts
    173 Global Posts

Default What does it mean?

I'm soon going to be jumping into my first android (LG G3) and I keep hearing about rooting your phone? seeing I'm new to the whole android side can someone explain what rooting your phone does and is pros and cons?

Global Posts
    3,038 Global Posts
    ROM
    X-Note7.0.1

Default Re: What does it mean?

Short version.

Rooting gives you administrative rights. Some apps cn't do their thing without it - most apps that most people use don't need it. It also voids the warranty on most phones. (Even if the problem has nothing to do with rooting. The earphone jack doesn't work? That's a hardware problem, but if the phone is rooted, the hardware isn't covered either.)

Bottom line - if you don't need (as opposed to want) it, don't. Eventually you'll learn enough tht you'll need it - but by then you'll be answering questions, not asking them.
    B. Diddy and UJ95x like this.

Global Posts
    2,938 Global Posts
    ROM
    Perma-rooted and unlocked

Quote Originally Posted by Ansovald View Post
    I'm soon going to be jumping into my first android (LG G3) and I keep hearing about rooting your phone? seeing I'm new to the whole android side can someone explain what rooting your phone does and is pros and cons?
    All rooting means is that you get full access to all the files and folders on your device. By default, some areas cannot be accessed by you (usually for security reasons).