Textra has convinced me to stop using hangouts for SMS

JeffDenver

Banned
May 3, 2010
Visit site
I was on board with SMS integration into Hangouts, but then I tried this app. Full Material Design, and it works beautifully.

https://forums.androidcentral.com/e...ps/details?id=com.textra&hl=en&token=uS6cKO1q

THIS is what the native Android texting app should look like. Hangouts needs to follow this pattern. Fast, smooth, simple, and intuitive WITHOUT taking away options. You can still customize colors and text sizes and other stuff. I wish the app would do Gtalk as well.

Almeuit

Moderator Team Leader
Apr 17, 2012
Visit site
I use ChompSMS and have never used another app for texting since then. ChompSMS is made by the same developers as textra.

Simple, fast, quick reply, and customization.. Awesome!

spydersilk

Jul 7, 2010
Visit site
I have been using textra for a couple months and really like it. Hello sms is nice too. I have a Galaxy s5 and the stock sms seems laggy to me

A895

Aug 2, 2012
Visit site
I use the SMS App from Lollipop, it works on KitKat

Attachments

• uploadfromtaptalk1414959794681.png
    uploadfromtaptalk1414959794681.png
    61.5 KB · Views: 63
  • uploadfromtaptalk1414959802679.png
    uploadfromtaptalk1414959802679.png
    32.7 KB · Views: 63

JeffDenver

Banned
May 3, 2010
Visit site
The only reason I tend not to use some default google apps is the restrictions. It's why I don't use the default launcher.

I mam guessing you cannot change colors in the Lillipop text app? And there is no dark mode? Google seems to have gone the Apple direction in restricting choices like that. There is no dark mode in the new Gmail either.

Textra is as fast and smooth and clean as any Google app, but also has more options.

A895

Aug 2, 2012
Visit site
The only reason I tend not to use some default google apps is the restrictions. It's why I don't use the default launcher.