[q] Should roms block ads?

voghan

Jan 30, 2010
Visit site
I'm curious if people think it's ok for custom roms to block ads by default. That is the developer has placed code in their rom to block all requests to a specific set of web sites used to place ads in applications. Those ads help fund the development of those apps. Is it ok for a rom developer, who is asking for donations via paypal, to block ads (and deny income) for an app developer?

levelm

Mar 15, 2010
Visit site
Absolutely! Maybe app developers should rethink their income strategy. I am always willing to support a developer by purchasing an app, I however despise ads and avoid them at all costs. Kudos to developers who write code to block ads. I would much rather support the rom developer than an ad infested product anyday.

voghan

Jan 30, 2010
Visit site
It's my experience most people are cheap. They rather have the free version with ads than pay $1 or $2 for an app. I can say this because I am an app developer and can see that my free app has 14x as many active installs compared to the paid version.

steveh552

Trusted Member
Mar 6, 2010
Visit site
I despise ads. I find some of them slow down my apps. If I have lagging apps I uninstall them.

Sent from my EVO via Tapatalk pro.

Gee

Aug 25, 2010
Visit site
Blocks ads = block income = block Android app development.

With this attitude it's pretty obvious why the best developers are coding/designing for iOS.

Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk

levelm

Mar 15, 2010
Visit site
Blocks ads = block income = block Android app development.

With this attitude it's pretty obvious why the best developers are coding/designing for iOS.

Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk

Then explain to me why Angry Birds on iOS has no ads! Your point is absolutely moot. Try again later. Thanks.

Jerry Hildenbrand

Space Cowboy
Staff member
Oct 11, 2009
Visit site
Then explain to me why Angry Birds on iOS has no ads! Your point is absolutely moot. Try again later. Thanks.