Kids that have iPads / iPhones etc.

IlluminAppti

May 23, 2015
Visit site
I worked in retail over Christmas.

In the few weeks that I was working, I met so many parents that talked to me about the devices that their kids have.

I honestly couldn't believe the stuff that they were buying for their children.

The craziest was; A 3-year old with an iPad and a 5-year old with an iPhone.

I'm not a parent and I'm not really looking to be one (anytime soon). But, part of me did wonder if maybe I had an old-fashioned outlook on this. Or whether the thought of children playing with these devices was borderline mental. As I'm a games designer and the prices of iPhones/iPads make my eyes water at times. To think that parents are buying them and giving them to their kids is crazy.

Also, before anyone mentions about how these devices help children with autism. The parents made it quite clear that the devices were just for their kids to "mess about with". They weren't used for any educational needs.

Just wondering what other people think about this.

Aquila

Retired Moderator
Feb 24, 2012
Visit site
My kids don't have their own devices, but we do have a couple of old devices that we let them play with. They love it and it actually does have some educational value in a lot of the kid's games. I don't think I'd go buy my toddler a $1000 device just to tool around on, but I don't see a problem with them having the technology itself. My kids get to play with the devices my wife and I no longer use, so it works out.

tennislvr8

Jul 15, 2011
Visit site
As an educator, parent and grandparent, the majority of these parents are purchasing these items for 2 reasons:
1. To keep up with the Jones', I don't know which Jones started it but one did.
2. It's easier to keep their kids quiet a d behaving. Forget developing fine motor skills and knowing and liking how to color, in or out of the lines.