Is There an App That Plays Music Without Eating Data?

Murph5150

Jul 31, 2010
Visit site
Now that the weather is warmer I'm more tempted to go for walks and jogs. I don't have a music library and was wondering what the best way was for me to be able to listen to music while I was out on my jog. Any suggestions?

Posted via the Android Central App

hallux

Q&A Team
Jul 7, 2013
Visit site
Without a library of tracks that you can store locally, you can use the Play Music app to cache "stations" to your phone. I'm not entirely sure how that works. Bottom line is that without an FM radio capability or any tracks you can copy to the phone, you don't have a whole lot of offline listening capability.

kramer5150

Jan 15, 2016
Visit site
Maybe you can find an MP3 recording app that will record audio from a www radio stream station? So you would have one long recording to bring with you.

I have no interest in podcasts at all, so I have zero first hand experience with it. there may be a downloadable solution for you in the podcasting world.

Almeuit

Moderator Team Leader
Apr 17, 2012
Visit site
As others said you will have to download from somewhere which usually requires a subscription to Google Play Music or Spotify or something of that nature since music has to be DRM protected (or bought).

Other than that you can use FM if you have a phone with the capability.

kramer5150

Jan 15, 2016
Visit site
If your carrier allows it, and your phone has the FM circuit engaged, the Next Radio app will allow you to tune in to local FM stations.

In fact I am 100% positive there is a downloadable solution that will physically work for you in the podcasting world. My cousin downloads podcast shows all the time and plays them back from his SD card media storage on either his phone or Sandisk MP3 player. Question then becomes one of content... and if you can find what you want to listen to.