A word of warning about 100% brightness

Air Force One

Jan 7, 2010
Visit site
I realize most of you are smart enough not to run your Nexus at 100% brightness, unfortunately, I am not.:)

I navigated to google's home page last night and was inspecting the screen against the white background and noticed what appeared to be a ghosting bar on the left side of the screen. At first I couldn't figure out what it was but then I switched to portrait and the bar matched exactly to the notification bar at the top of the screen(in portrait).

It appears to be burn-in. In fact, I'm 99% sure it's burn in. It's possible it's image retention but I seriously doubt it as the bar is slightly less bright than the rest of the screen. If it were image retention I would expect the bar to be brighter than the rest of the screen.

I've got some experience with this since I'm heavily in to home theater and picture quality, and pretty much know what burn-in looks like.

It's not easy to see unless you go looking for it, that's just the way I am with screens. My issue is that if this is happening in only a month, even at 100% brightness, then care should be taken with certain static images, such as some clocks, etc.., and care should be taken regarding screen brightness.

I'm not used to a screen that has this low of a brightness half-life, which if this is burn-in, the Nexus OLED screen certainly does have an iffy brightness half-life.

Just to be clear: I love my Nexus.... I just want to warn people not to abuse their screen the way I have. LCD can take it, not so sure about OLED. And make no mistake, running it at 100% brightness is abuse. Just being a mobile device I figured by the time I ever noticed burn-in that I would be close to getting a new device.

I'm now running 50% brightness and will post back if this bar fades or changes in some way. If anyone has questions about what I'm seeing I'll be happy to answer as well.

Last edited:
G

GenericMessage