-------Nexus 4 Battery Life (Horrible, Major drainage!)-------

iortiz55

Nov 28, 2012
Visit site
After failing to secure a Nexus 4 after Google's horrific first launch, I decided to just go to T-Mobile and renew my contract and upgrade to the LG Nexus 4. Wow. The phone is amazing. Blazing fast and a great design. Only problem is...the battery life. I won't say it's the worst battery life I've ever had but being that it's the Nexus 4 (Google's flagship Android device) this thing's battery sucks! I've seen reviewers online showing snapshots of their Nexus getting 14 hours+ with like 3 hour screen time and I have no idea how they do it. I'm not a tech expert and certainly not an Android expert but I know my way and I know the basics and I've tried adjusting settings, removing apps, factory reset, etc. but to no avail.

Some background info:
-Before the Nexus 4 I owned a Samsung Galaxy S3 (literally 3 weeks before) on Sprint but I returned it and cancelled my contract for this very same reason.
-The phone is new, purchased 3 days after the initial release (T-Mobile).
-I reside in Queens, NY. Service is excellent, around 95% of the time on 4G, full bars.
-Apps that I installed the first day I got the phone: Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr, Instagram, Handcent, Handcent Emoji Plugin, ESPN, Bank of America, Google Drive, Temple Run, Fruit Ninja. I installed Apex home-launcher.
-After the first 3 days or so the battery life was so horrible that I decided to factory reset the phone to try and see if that would fix the problem but that was a fail.
-After resetting it I did not install any 3rd party apps and tested the phone for a day to see if that would help but same result.

Steps I've taken in order to try and get the amazing battery life that this device is supposed to offer: (After the factory reset)

• Only 3rd party apps installed Twicca, Tumblr, Instagram, Handcent, and Bank of America. Stock Android keyboard.
  • Vibrate on key press is disabled.