The so called Nexus 4 battery woes

peejay1977

Mar 26, 2010
Visit site
Ok, thought I'd start a new thread on this, not for people to complain about battery life but to discuss maturely the possible causes of battery drains. I'm no Android expert, in fact the Nexus 4 is my first Android phone (previously Blackberries and iPhones), but I am in the world of IT so I like to think at least I have a logical mindset for this sort of thing.

First off, I'm of the opinion (until I'm proved otherwise) that with the exception of a few defective units which is inevitable, that the majority of the battery issues are software not hardware related. I've had battery drain issues on the iPhone and Blackberry in the past and it's always been down to software issues.

One observation I have made, is that alot of people seem to be comparing the Nexus to iPhones stating things such as "My iPhone never drained this bad, what a farce Google, sort it out" and similar. I like to liken Android vs iOS in the same way as I do Linux vs Windows.

I work in Windows Server infrastructure support and although Windows is configurable to a degree my brief look into Linux shows the power of what can be done, if you know how. Much more freedom available, but with that comes more chance of issues creeping in.

This is what drew me to Android, as much as I loved my iPhone (and still do) as a self confessed nerd I dislike being prevented from having choice, such as my default browser, but while this annoys me it's also worth noting that iOS is specific OS for specific hardware, which means the chances of issues is "probably" much less than with a more open source OS.

With the options Android gives app developers its no wonder that sometimes the combination of all these apps, all asking for a slice of the pie (so to speak) causes issues with conflicting processes or battery drains.