Nexus 4 Water damage help

John Miles

Nov 29, 2012
Visit site
Hello,

I'm a noob poster and I did search but didn't see anything with this particular question. Im hoping that maybe someone has an answer for me. My Nexus 4 fell into the sink real quick while i was doing dishes. It was maybe in there for like half a second and not the entire phone, just the bottom half (Lower speaker, mic, power cord plug in.)Surprisingly the only thing that doesn't work is the receiver. People cannot hear me when i talk and the voice to text doesn't work. Im trying the rice routine for now and hoping that it fixes it.

I'm hoping that I can get a replacement phone with warranty but i guess that depends if my liquid indicator has been tripped. Does anyone know where this is inside the phone? If its on the upper half i should be OK. Or maybe is there something else i can try to get this receiver to work again.

Love the phone but have only had it 1 day so this is a real bummer. Any help would be awesome. Thanks!

yfan

Nov 28, 2009
Visit site
Water damage is not covered by any warranty. If the rice treatment doesn't fix it, you might just be out of luck. Just buy a new one and this time, don't drop it in water!

Dramer77

Jul 24, 2010
Visit site
Leave it powered off and put it in a bag of white rice for a few days

Sent from my Amazon Kindle Fire using Android Central Forums

V-Tech

Nov 18, 2012
Visit site
Like yfan said, no warranty covers water damage, never been and neve will probably.

Your best chances is with the rice trick. My wife dropped her BB in the sink and the rice thingy really helped.

John Miles

Nov 29, 2012
Visit site
Like yfan said, no warranty covers water damage, never been and neve will probably.

Your best chances is with the rice trick. My wife dropped her BB in the sink and the rice thingy really helped.