Program Like Backgrounder for Android?

jinjin12

Nov 28, 2012
Visit site
i'm new to android. on IOS there is a cydia app called "backgrounder". i loved it because it let me redefine multitasking rules for certain programs. for example, for most programs, i made it so that the OS kills the program anytime i exit using the home button. now is there such a program for android that would let em do this? i don't want to have to manually kill app everytime, i want to make the OS do it by itself for the programs i specify.

google searches say no, but i'm still optimistic so if anyone knows, please reply.

jinjin12

Nov 28, 2012
Visit site
Android is different. You want the programs to run in the background until you need them.
lol what? yes most programs remain in active in background, but some are actually still runnign and using resources and battery life!, i want to save battery life!

corance

Nov 3, 2012
Visit site
I should have put "run". Maybe someone else can explain. But to answer your question I think launchers like apex or go launcher allow you to hold the back button to kill an app.

Hubertsng

Dec 4, 2012
Visit site
I understand what you are talking (used backgrounder too, so much better) but I'm not sure of any other programs that can do this for android. There are some battery applications I'm pretty sure that can help you though.

promanex

Nov 21, 2012
Visit site
lol what? yes most programs remain in active in background, but some are actually still runnign and using resources and battery life!, i want to save battery life!

The don't *run* as in use cpu time (unless they have something to do, like sync or whatever) they stay loaded in memory. This makes them load faster the next time you want them. If that memory is needed then the OS will kill off the app and recycle it's memory. Only apps that actually do WORK in the background will consume battery power, though.

jinjin12

Nov 28, 2012
Visit site